Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2008, 11:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Circulation pump on boiler


Just removed my ancient gas boiler & I'm in the process of replacing it with a new boiler, On the Old boiler, the circulation pump was on the return line & On the new boiler, it recommends placing the circulation pump on the supply line, I would like to keep the circulation pump on the return, as all the plumbing pipes are ready to go, Does it matter where you place the circulation pump ... being that a boiler is a closed loop system or do I have to follow the instructions of new boiler?

uncleneiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 05:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to Marlin
Default

Circulation pump on boiler


It also shouldn't be a bid deal to switch it before the boiler is installed. Unless you have a special situation it shouldn't matter where you put the circulator though. Just make sure they are flowing the correct way. Now do the directions recommend it be on the feed or do they say it has to be on the feed. If they say it must be on the feed put it on the feed or they may use it as an excuse to void your warranty should something go wrong.

Marlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Circulation pump on boiler


If somebody knows what difference this would make, I'd like to hear it, because it seems to me like either situation would be fine, as long as the pump is going the same way : Pulling water from the top, and pumping it back into the bottom. . . . .
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 06:58 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Circulation pump on boiler


I have just installed an Ideal Classic boiler & it doesn't state how the pump is wired & also the boiler kept cutting out its a new pump but is it possible its faulty?
Jomalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 09:01 AM   #5
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Circulation pump on boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jomalley View Post
I have just installed an Ideal Classic boiler & it doesn't state how the pump is wired & also the boiler kept cutting out its a new pump but is it possible its faulty?
Start a new topic to get more responses...
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump pump issue mikehende Plumbing 15 02-15-2008 06:36 AM
Foundation drain and sump pump slatergrl Plumbing 3 02-10-2008 09:36 AM
sump pump continuing running deck hand Plumbing 2 01-16-2008 04:35 PM
Well pump issue-should I be concerned? Mikedks Plumbing 8 10-08-2006 10:42 PM
Whine from a boiler pump? formarley HVAC 2 09-26-2006 07:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.