Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2014, 07:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Hello All!

I currently have 1/2" copper coming into my house... And all my lines servicing all the faucets, appliances, bathroom, etc. are also 1/2"... But I will be adding a second bathroom right above my main bathroom... I wanted to tap into the line servicing my main bathroom and extending it to the new bathroom... I was thinking of changing all the lines from 1/2" to 3/4", then break off to service each bathroom...

Since the main line into my house is 1/2" I wasn't sure if that would make a difference... If it will make a difference changing to 3/4", should I do 3/4" starting at my meter to my water tank, etc...

markw8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,350
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Coming into your house from where?
Your pump house, city water meter?
Reason I'm asking is it would be far better if it was all 3/4" mains.
A 3/4"pipe will have close to twice the volume of a 1/2 pipe, but if it's only 1/2 at the beginning it's going to give you good flow and volume when a faucet is first opened but drop off quickly.
It's like standing on a garden hose.
It will be better but not the best it can be.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:20 AM   #3
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


It won't make a difference unless you change it all the way out to the meter. There's nothing wrong with upsizing the mainlines inside the house now with the intention of upsizing the mainline later.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 07:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Joecaption: My water line coming into my house is from the main city waterline which is also 1/2"...

In a nutshell... It goes:

Main City water line-> 1/2" copper pipe into my house-> Water Meter-> Pressure Regulator-> Fuel House...

Alan: My meter is inside my house... But the line from the main city waterline to my meter is still only 1/2"... Will it make any difference beside what Joecaption said?

That is also a good idea about changing my lines inside my house with the intention of upgrading later...
markw8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:40 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,853
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Depends on the pressure. 60# plus probably not. 35# possibly.
Fairview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 10:04 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Ok... Right now my pressure is about 50lbs...
markw8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,214
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Wow, smallest water feed from street in these parts is 3/4 inch..
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,331
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Quote:
Originally Posted by markw8500 View Post
Ok... Right now my pressure is about 50lbs...
well if your pressure is about 50 psi now and you have pressure regulator in the system.....you could bump up the pressure and run the 3/4 lines which would carry more volume and adding the little higher pressure you should improve your demand ....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,214
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


It wouldn't hurt... 3/4
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 01:09 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Ghostmaker: You're not kidding! My house was built around 1890...

Ben: AWESOME! I think that's what I'll do... What pressure do you think I can turn it up to?
markw8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 03:03 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,331
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


see if you can get 65- 70 start there and see if its good enough...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 03:14 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Change Pipe to 3/4"...


Ok... Great! Thanks Ben!!!

markw8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deep Pipe Clog - Epic Battle Digi Plumbing 37 02-02-2013 11:48 AM
Leaking drain pipe under kitchen sink dethun Plumbing 20 09-26-2012 07:30 AM
Lead Drain Pipe Project Turbo98 Plumbing 33 01-30-2011 11:27 AM
Condensation in Gas Furnace Vent Pipe chanco HVAC 2 01-08-2011 04:01 PM
Can I go up from 3/4" metal gas pipe to a 1" and then back down? Philip_Soldat Plumbing 3 11-09-2009 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.