DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Can a roof vent identify where my main sewer line exits the house?

23K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  YerDugliness 
#1 ·
It looks like I will have to spend the weekend getting VERY well acquainted with a rental "roto-rooter'. My problem is that I cannot identify where my main sewer line exits my house and there is no clean-out outside. I intend to remove a (hopefully only one!) toilet to access the large sewage line with the roto-rooter, obviously I hope to remove only the toilet closest to the main line.

My house is oriented with the front door facing north. I have a full bath in the master bedroom at the southwest corner and a full bath located at the center of the east side of the house. My city's engineering department was no help, as the house was built in the late 1970's and all the engineering records from that long ago are in a warehouse somewhere. The only thing I got was a .pdf file showing that the water supply lines run along the street curb on the north side of the house and that the city's sewer lines run along the property lines on the south side of the house--nothing showing exactly where my main line connects to the city's sewer system, though, just the city's line.

I'm hoping that the house's sewer line's "vent" system will help identify where the main line exits the home. I figure it must be close to one of the toilets, each of which is within a foot of its respective east and west walls.

I can see a large (4"??) white PVC plastic vent pipe sticking up through the roof right above the exterior wall in the area of the bath at the southwestern corner. I can see various other smaller (2"??) vents sticking up through the roof near other locations, none of which are directly above the exterior wall as is that single large vent pipe---close to the kitchen, where the washer/dryer are in the garage, the restroom on the east side, but no other pieces of white 4" pipe anywhere.