Can I Use A Tankless Toilet? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2010, 01:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a tankless toilet?


My toilet tank is built into the back of the bathroom sink. To flush the toilet there is a lever on the side of the sink. The toilet outlet is 6" on center away from the wall. I was hoping I could replace it with a tank less?

Advertisement

spangler5641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:36 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I use a tankless toilet?


Most likely not without moving the drain.
Most standard toilets are 12" OC for the drain.
Not sure if the same rules apply to a tankless or not.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a tankless toilet?


Thanks. I'm hoping for an easy fix. I've already had my share of DIY
that starts with changing an outlet & the next thing you know the kitchen is gutted.
spangler5641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 01:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can I use a tankless toilet?


When you say "tankless" toilet are you referring to a flush valve toilet you see in commercial buildings? If so, your water system will not be able to handle the required flow for a toilet like this. These toilets have 1" connections and flow the entire 1.6 gallons in 5-7 seconds. Your piping system will not be able to handle it.
The Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 06:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 601
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Can I use a tankless toilet?


Also, if the outlet on the toilet is only a 6" rough in you won't find anything that will fit in that space without moving the drain. Even commercial flushometer toilets have a 12" rough in
the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toilet issue: Shims, wax, general disarray. dawho1 Plumbing 8 01-23-2010 08:38 PM
Help me check my logic on clogged drain and overflowing toilet Southlake_Ed Plumbing 10 01-05-2010 08:52 PM
Leaky toilet drain secutanudu Plumbing 0 08-17-2009 11:14 AM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 08:12 AM
Where is the toilet vent?!?!? domgbrown Plumbing 4 01-11-2008 07:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts