Can I Pipe My Ice Maker Off My RO Unit? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 11:52 AM   #1
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


I currently run a sink mounted RO unit with a 3g reservoir. Dear Husband would like to hook the ice maker in my fridge up to it. It seems easy enough to T off of the line from the reservoir and run it to the ice maker.

Here's my question: does the ice maker rely of house water pressure to fill? Will it be able to work with the relatively lower pressure that feeds from the RO tank?

FYI: this would be nice because our current brown ice is not very attractive (old galvanized pipes that are not going to get replaced this year).

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 01:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


You should be getting pretty good water pressure from the reservoir, but the more water that leaves the reservoir at a time, the lower the pressure would be. Unless there's something strange involving valves that require house pressure in the freezer, I'd say go for it.

Advertisement

perpetual98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 02:45 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Cool - can't wait to have some sparkly clean ice cubes.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
deuce of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: rural, coastal SC
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Ours is set up this way, and it works just fine
lanispet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 10:12 PM   #5
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


The 3 gallon reservoir shoud be able to supply the fridge ice maker.

What is wrong with brown ice cubes, they should blend very nicely with cola drinks, just no Sprite

Last edited by troubleseeker; 04-09-2008 at 10:15 PM.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:54 PM   #6
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Still no clear ice - Aesthetically, the brown ice doesn't bother me. You can't even tell when it's in the house wine of the south. However, I am concerned that I am getting my yearly recommended allowance of iron every time I have an iced tea.

- Went to Blowes and got: 25 feet of icemaker line (1/4), brass compression fittings to connect to fridge, quick connect 1/4 tee, quick connect 1/4 inline shut off valve.
- I installed the tee in the line from the 'final filter' to the faucet, as per manufacturer. What a PITA to make a straight cut in the pex-type tubing on the RO unit.
- I had to drill a 1/2 hole in the bottom of the cabinet to run the line into the basement. Once I made it into the basement I ran the line through existing holes in the joists and back up to the fridge.
- Hooked everything up, turned the water back on, and water ran out of a relief exit in the faucet.

I called Manufacturer and got a real live person in Knoxville, TN. According to him, my install was correct but the faucet failed when I shut the water off and back on.

They are sending me a replacement faucet and asked that I send the old one back to them. Since he was so quick to offer the free replacement, and a quick internet search showed that they are no longer selling the 'old type' faucet, I am guessing there was some design flaw. I was impressed with their customer service and wouldn't hesitate to buy another product from them.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 02:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Perhaps you need to cycle all of the "tea" from your freezer first? If the water coming from the RO and the end of the tube by the fridge is clear, then perhaps you have a ghost doing unspeakable things to your freezer.
perpetual98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:15 PM   #8
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


S-U-C-C-E-S-S. I was so excited that the new faucet worked that I pumped out 3 gallons to change the water out in my fish tank. Even as I type my RO unit is happily gurgling away, preparing for it's ultimate test - to make crystal clear ice cubes. Cubes so clear, that nature herself will cast her eyes in shame at her antarctic glaciers. Once the tank refills, I'm going to open my freezer, lift that weird little metal lever, and listen to the sound of success.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 12:19 AM   #9
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


I had a 3 stooges moment last night with mine. I got a new fridge a few years ago, and I used the "plastic" water supply line that can with the fridge. I have a "T" coming off the cold water under the sink, and ran the supply line through the cabinets (drilled holes), to get to the fridge (back of cabinets). I wanted a seperate shutoff valve for the ice maker under the sink, just incase the line were to ever rupture or break, I could turn this off, while still having water everywhere else. Last night, I noticed that the bottom of the cabinet was damp (particle board) and the particle board had started to swell. On closer inspection, I found there were "teeth" marks on the supply line from a mouse or rat, and it was leaking. Oh brother. Well, I went under the sink, and turned off the fridge supply line (the cutoff valve was less than 2 years old) I then decided to remove the supply line, so I could pick up another one the next day.

Well, when I removed the supply line, the water started "shooting" out from under the sink, across the kitchen! I had o fight to put that connection back on, knowing a slow leak was better than a gyser. I then had to shut of the entire house water supply until today. What had happened, the shut-off valve had gotten filled with all the hard water crust pieces, causing the valve to fail. What a mess! Well, this time, I used copper for the supply line, and installed a new valve to complete the project. What a night-mare!

BTW, I also put out some rat/mice poison. LOL
bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 01:33 PM   #10
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Ah, the best laid plans of mice and men.

FYI: here's a close-up of my latest glass of water.


Attached Images
 
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 07:44 PM   #11
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit?


Yup, quite a glass you got there.

Advertisement

bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Ice Maker Not Getting Water sgorak General DIY Discussions 3 10-27-2008 09:02 PM
PVC pipe broken on Gas Furnace/AC unit Keyo77 HVAC 8 10-16-2007 04:08 AM
Insulating AC unit pipe DWrath HVAC 2 10-15-2006 05:04 PM
Need to support 15th of ABS pipe irishtimes101 Plumbing 3 09-01-2006 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts