Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-27-2012, 02:52 PM   #1

Share |

Can I Move Toilet Drain Into Wall?

Hello folks, I want to move my toilet but its on concrete and I really don't want to have to jackhammer it up. So my question is can I redirect it up into the wall thru the framing? Sorry I have zero knowledge in plumbing but will read up if I have to. Just wanted to know if its possible.

I want to move it to where the toilet paper thing is. The pipe coming up from the ground is no problem cause I would extend the shower (from the left side) all the way to the other wall (where the toilet paper is) and build a seating area to conceal it.

the venting can be easily moved as well.

Toilet Bowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:56 PM   #2

A whole lot of work for little gain.
The floor would have to be jack hammered out all the way under the wall, you would need at least a 6" thick wall for the drain pipe.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:11 PM   #3

damn, I really need more space on the wall. as of now my max shower size can be 30" wide. I'm assuming If I were to build the wall out with another 2x4 I'd have sufficient space? Moving the toilet like this is pretty much my only viable option
Old 06-27-2012, 07:19 PM   #4
Bill Kearney

Just where do you think the toilet would drain where it to go "into the wall"? There are such things as toilets that recess their tank and have their drain in the wall cavity. They're not cheap and it still has to drain down to a sewer line. Where is the other line you'd use?

It'd be a lot simpler to just rent a jackhammer and do it right. Bust the floor, re-route the plumbing (properly) and concrete it over again.

Honestly, if you didn't know enough to already know this answer, then perhaps you really should consider speaking with a local plumbing professional about it.