Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 09:21 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 44
Share |
Question

Building new home in country-natural gas hookup


We are going to be building a house on some of our property that has a high pressure main line (6", I recollect) running through it. Is it still possible to get a regulator installed and a hookup to the house and shop? My father had a NG hookup put in back in 1969 when he built a new house on his property.

Thanks.

Mustang Gregg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:00 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,972
Default

Building new home in country-natural gas hookup


Call the utility that owns the pipeline. If it is a transmission line, I suspect the answer will be no.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Mustang Gregg (12-16-2011)
Old 10-25-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 44
Default

Building new home in country-natural gas hookup


RJ:

Thanks for the comeback. I would contact them (gas co), if I could. I'm currently in Afghanistan with no phone service to reach them. However, I have satellite internet & thought I'd just ask what other DIY guys have found and could assist me with.

When I get some R&R, I will be able to talk to them.

Thanks,
MG
Mustang Gregg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 44
Default

Building new home in country-natural gas hookup


They will not give a yes or no answer right off. They said I have to supply them with a full building plan first. I do not really want to put much $$$ or effort into giving them a proposed construction and site plan if I still don't know if I can have a hookup.

I'd like to know NOW. If I can't use natural gas, I will change sites where we will build. We have several possible site nearby.

BTW: My dad built a new house a mile away back in '69. He got hooked up to the very SAME line. No issues then!

Much obliged,
MG
Mustang Gregg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reusing concrete forms in home building dalepres Building & Construction 9 04-03-2011 10:31 AM
Easiest, most cost-effective way of building a natural looking wall around a pond? snowfall Building & Construction 2 07-26-2010 01:02 PM
Building a Home Sam28 Building & Construction 5 05-28-2006 07:16 AM
Home building process wilddngy General DIY Discussions 19 04-06-2005 02:17 PM
steps to building a home? am i correct? katerwal Building & Construction 2 03-12-2005 11:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.