Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-07-2012, 03:54 PM   #1

Share |

Broke pop up drain stop

So I have absolutely no experience when it comes to anything plumbing related, but interested to see if this is something I can fix on my own without calling out a plumber.

I have a master bath that has two of those glass bowl sinks on each side of the counter top. The left one is the one I usually use, and in my recent attempt to unclog the drain, I seemed to have broken the drain stop in some way to the point where it looks like it needs to be replaced. So that's my first problem.

The second sink on the right works fine and I hardly ever use it, but it has a leak coming from one of the pvc pipes underneath. So I'm hoping to take care of both of these. I'll dive in with pics and questions.

Went to Home Depot - and I see the exact same drain stopper kit as what looks to be used here. I'm thinking I can just buy that and replace it.

1.) I'm surprised that there's no seal other than the rubber between the sink, counter top, and rest of the kit underneath the counter. Is this right? It looks like even in the instructions of the kit they don't mention using any sort of caulking. Guessing the pressure just keeps it all together?

2.) You can see in one of my pictures, the pvc pipe disconnected. I just unscrewed the knob and took out the straight pvc pipe part with the stainless steel cylinder that's in it (it's the picture of me holding the pvc pipe and stainless steel part against a white wall). It looks like the bottom part of this stopper kit just attaches into the pvc pipe not with any sort of sealant but some sort of rubber washer inside that keeps it 'vacuumed' in, if that makes sense. Guessing I can just reuse this pvc part?

3.) Reattaching the white pvc pipe to the part it was disconnected from, do I just tighten the plastic knob and it'll maintain the seal as well?