Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-11-2012, 07:20 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Best way to add supply lines?

Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum. I am relatively new to plumbing work as well, especially when it comes to laying down new pipe, which is what I'd like to do.

I moved into a turn of the century house about a year ago. I noticed that there is no spigot to which I can connect a garden hose.

I bought a frost-proof sillcock and watched some videos online which show how to add one on. The only issue is that I don't have any water supply lines on that side of the house, so basically I have to add a lot of pipe.

If it helps you visualize, the left half of the house (if you're facing the front door) is where all the plumbing is, as it's the part of the house where the kitchens and baths are. The right half is where I need the spigot installed. Also the basement is dry and unfinished, so thankfully I can see the pipes.

What I was wondering was, where is the best place to cut into so I can add a new supply line to the side of the house? I would prefer to use PEX for this project.

Thank you all in advance!

HammerinScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:22 PM   #2

Need to know what type material the pipes you have now are?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:25 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by HammerinScrews View Post
Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum. I am relatively new to plumbing work as well, especially when it comes to laying down new pipe, which is what I'd like to do.

I moved into a turn of the century house about a year ago. I noticed that there is no spigot to which I can connect a garden hose.