Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2009, 08:11 PM   #1

Share |

bathtub install, diy or pro?

I will be closing on my first house this wednesday. I am looking to redo the bathroom first. I am handy myself as my background is auto mechanic. I have no problem changing a toilet and vanity. Also electrical isn't a problem. But the tub that is currently there, is pink and old. I was thinking about glazing but I just decided to install a new one for the price compared to glazing and new tubs. The tubs surround is 4 x 4 tiles. Will I be able to replace the tub without having to do any tile work? Is a tub install meant to be more of a pro's job then a diy?

Last edited by fabian; 01-11-2009 at 08:13 PM. Reason: spell error
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:18 PM   #2

I have limited handyman ability and experience. I've tackled a complete remodel of our bathroom including plumbing moves and expanding the bathroom into our bedroom closet. The tub is completely installed except the final plumbing hook-ups. If a guy with my abilities can handle it you certainly can. Take your time and think it through before you start each part of the tub change out. You my not have to take out the tile but you might want to given the other work your putting in the bathroom.

The best advice I can give you is submit threads to this site whenever you are unsure of something. Everyone on here is helpful and they'll guide you through anything you need to know.

Good Luck!!!!

MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:35 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyP View Post