Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-06-2012, 08:05 PM   #1

Share |

Bathtub Drain

Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to help my parent's out and I have zero bathtub experience.

This is a jacuzzi tub that's approx 15-20 years old. Everything works fine except as long as my parents have owned the house (about 8 years), the tub has never had a proper drain plug. They've always used that plastic piece you slap over the drain and that stops the water.

Mom wants to replace the drain with a lever type deal. Looking at the tub, I'd likely have to pull the whole dang tub out to replace a drain. There's zero room to work off the access panel, even if I cut the drywall out.

But I was looking, there appears to be a threaded hole in the drain. I was wondering, was this a plug of some sort? Can someone give me a name or description of what I'm looking for? l What are my options going from here?

Some pictures. Sorry they're so crappy.

Thanks,
Timothy

Last edited by myowneq; 04-06-2012 at 08:10 PM.
myowneq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:36 PM   #2

Bathtub Drain

You could use something like this
http://www.efaucets.com/detail.asp?P...FQ1jhwod8EOyYg
With a drain wrench, screw driver and plumbers putty it should take about a hour

Old 04-06-2012, 08:51 PM   #3

Bathtub Drain

Would I have to take the old drain out? If so, that's not gonna work. I'd really have to take the tub out.

The tub as a whole is sitting on the concrete slab. They cut a square into the slab to make room for the drain, but didn't leave enough room to work on it. I can barely squeeze one hand in there, but there's no room to use any type of tool. On top of all that, I can't see what I'm doing.

Taking the tub out is an absolute last option. And I'm not even sure Mom would go for it.
Old 04-06-2012, 09:00 PM   #4

Bathtub Drain

Quote:
Originally Posted by myowneq View Post