Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-12-2010, 04:55 PM   #1

Share |

Bathroom Sinks do not line up with drain pipe - what do I do?

My house is under an agreement of sale. Prior to listing it, I replaced the original bathroom vanity sinks/cabinets with new ones. Unfortunately though, the sink drain for both of them didn't line up with the drain pipe coming from the floor and the S-trap that was connected to it, so I went to the big box store and bought some of these flexible connectors. I thought it would be okay but when the buyer's inspector came through he dinged me on them, referring to them as 'temporary traps' (I'm sure he's referring to the flex pipe and not the PVC, right?). Anyways - pics are below of both. In the first pic you'll see that the S-trap is metal. I prefer to work with PVC because it's so easy an idiot like me can use it : )

How do I fix this? I'm a newbie at plumbing, so be kind : )

mark2741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 06:40 PM   #2
fabrk8r

Buy 1-1/4" brass offsets, one for each vanity drain, at your local plumbing supply house. You may need to shorten your tailpieces and/or adjust other drain pipe to make them fit.

In my case I had to cut the offset in two and take a section out and use a coupling to get everything to line up. I can take a picture if you need a visual.

Old 04-12-2010, 07:00 PM   #3

Frank,

I'm not sure what exactly an offset is, so if you could snap a pic that would much appreciated!

Now that I say that I just stopped and did a google search. Is this what you're talking about:

Thanks so much for the response!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
Buy 1-1/4" brass offsets, one for each vanity drain, at your local plumbing supply house. You may need to shorten your tailpieces and/or adjust other drain pipe to make them fit.