Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-11-2012, 03:30 PM   #1

Share |

bathroom rough in help

Hello,
I've never done any plumbing before but generally very handy. I'm finishing my basement slowly and need to get on the plumbing.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XV43...ature=youtu.be

In this video you'll see the layout and I would like to put a shower and not a tub. Need advise on the plumbing and how the lines and drains should be connected/moved. I plan to take a picture and of the existing layout and draw up what I think needs to be done and would like some guidelines on the proper way to do the plumbing.

would greatly appreciate any input on how I should get the rough in.

Thanks.

Last edited by kimbhoot; 12-11-2012 at 04:16 PM.
kimbhoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:40 PM   #2

bathroom rough in help

This is one job I strongly would suggest hiring a real licenced plumber to do!
Not even a friend of a friend that's done it before.
Reason being this is going to be a one shot deal. Done wrong and your going to be cutting out the concrete and doing it over.
Look though some of the older post and see some of the dozens of people having to do a do over.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:18 PM   #3

bathroom rough in help

I would hire someone to lay the shower for me and move the drain but I was thinking if I could do some parts to help save some cost.
Old 12-11-2012, 06:06 PM   #4
DIY staff

bathroom rough in help

Shower drains need to be 2" pipe---

Rent an electric jack hammer and open the floor---you will need a line back to the 3" toilet main line and a 1 1/2 " vent within 5 feet of the shower drain----

I would abandon the unwanted tub line so that section of the floor doesn't have to be demolished--
Old 12-11-2012, 07:06 PM   #5

bathroom rough in help

Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post