DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Plumbing (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/)
-   -   Bathroom layout opinions needed (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/bathroom-layout-opinions-needed-82345/)

PirateDan 09-25-2010 10:04 PM

Bathroom layout opinions needed
 
Remodeling master bathroom - current set up 1 sink, shower stall, toilet. Builder basic ugly. Would you -

A - 2 sinks, shower stall, toilet

B - 1 sink, shower stall, separate tub, toilet

These are the only options, have been round and round on this, can't decide best option especially looking a resale value.

TheEplumber 09-25-2010 11:21 PM

IMO you need a tub for better resale. The bigger the better

majakdragon 09-26-2010 08:30 AM

Most home buyers want at least one bathtub in the home. Lately, having a tub in each bathroom is becoming an important factor. Don't get real fancy and install a Garden tub. These are becoming more unpopular with people.

jimmy21 09-26-2010 10:44 PM

i was told that people don't do double sinks in houses anymore. I did a double sink in my house anyway though

majakdragon 09-27-2010 09:01 AM

Anyone that watches DIY TV shows can confirm that double vanities are all the rage. They allow both parties to use the bathroom at the same time. It also gives the wife proof that her husband is the one messing up the sink and not cleaning it. LOL

1910NE 09-28-2010 01:32 AM

2 sinks are waste of space and money, in my opinion. same goes for the separate shower and tub set (but less so than the two sinks.)
1 sink, toilet, and shower/tub combo. a bigger bathroom space will be more appealing if resale is your concern.

This is only an opinion, backed up by experience owning/selling homes with all of the above variations in the bathrooms.

jounderw 09-28-2010 12:04 PM

I actually love the idea of double sinks and think that it adds value. If the space does not allow for it, then obviously just do one sink and instead do a tub. I think that people also like have the option of a shower/tub combo.

LD004643578 09-28-2010 12:33 PM

For most homebuyers I think double sinks are considered a nice plus while a tub is considered an absolute necessity in the master bath. I would go for option B.

majakdragon 09-28-2010 01:43 PM

I love it that the DIY TV shows have so much input as to what people "need" and want in a bathroom. I have actually heard hosts state that the bathroom is where people spend the most time. I have to wonder what these people are doing there. To me, if you have limited space, a tub/shower unit is what you need. Double vanities are nice, but not necessary. Separate shower is also nice, but an added expense and space taker. I bought a repossessed home and it has the biggest bathroom I have ever seen. I have a shower stall, garden tub (which will be torn out later), double vanity with sinks being 10' apart, 3 small linen closets and two 8x10 additional walk-in closets. No way me and my wife can even fill all this space. Resale is the only thing that this room is good for.

acerunner 09-28-2010 02:29 PM

for a master, definitely go with tub or tub/shower combo. i agree with majakdragon, at least one tub in the house if you have multiple bathrooms.

At my house, I am doing tub in an upstairs bathroom and shower in the basement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved