Basement Leaking -- Please Help! - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-03-2012, 01:12 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basement leaking -- please help!

Hi, I'm a newbie to DIY,

I own a 7 year old home, and recently I started noticing water coming into the basement through a crack between the foundation wall and the floor (there is a linear horizontal crack on the joint between the wall and floor). I patched it up quickly with hydraulic cement, and I'm about to paint it after drying with some drylok waterproofing latex paint to prevent further leakage.

However, there is a big pipe that comes out of the ground and is connected to the water supply in the home (I am assuming this is the water main?) that sits right around where the leak was. After cementing the crack and containing the damage, I noticed that there is constant moisture and saturation around the pipe (as shown in this picture), so much so that the ground there is always moist.

I'm really confused how to fix this. If this is a leak coming from the water main, then how come the flooding happens only when there is torrential rain outside (my sump pump is working). Also, would it work if I use Drylok around this area to contain the moisture or would this entail a hefty repair where I would have to hire someone to crack the basement floor and take a look at if/where the watermain is leaking?

I would appreciate any help/guidance someone can provide.
Attached Thumbnails
Basement leaking -- please help!-picture.jpg  

Advertisement

rwickra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 01:26 PM   #2
Plumber/Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,638

If you cannot find water on the brass fitting that transitions the poly pipe to copper then your water problem comes from ground water that is seeping through the slab. Investigate your footing drains.

Advertisement