Basement Bathroom, Would The Following Be Okay By Code?? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-06-2010, 08:31 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basement Bathroom, Would the Following be Okay by Code??

Hey All, I am new at this sorry about the bad diagram/terminology. I am currently developing my basement and installing a full bathroom. The basement was roughed in for a half bath before we started our work so we want to make the necessary changes to allow a full bath. The following picture is the current...

I have confirmed that nothing is connected on other floors to the vent going to the roof. The vent is 2" and the toilet rough-in pipe is 4". Basically I am proposing going from 4" to 2" and instaling the shower where the toilet currently is, I then am going to move the vent a little bit closer to the drain to make room for the new toilet connection coming off the main pipe. On the other side of the wall I also want to add in a bar sink. Is the venting fine as is? or would a cheater vent be required for the bar sink? It is possilbe to T back to the main vent from the bar sink but it is work i am hoping i dont have to do. The following picture is how i would like it to look after i am done.

If you have any questions about anything let me know! all input is welcome!!

Thanks,
Mike

Advertisement

MikeCalg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:39 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 254

If allowed where you live look into a studor vent for the bar sink. They are not allowed in all localities

Advertisement

plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:49 PM   #3
Plumber/Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,604

The bar sink needs a vent and your 2" vent is sized large enough to vent all of your fixtures. Consider tying into it with all your fixture vents in the bathroom if possible.