Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2012, 08:09 AM   #1

Share |
Unhappy

Banging Pipe Sound

I did a master bathroom remodel and installed a new shower faucet. There are hot and cold water shut off valves prior to the shower faucet. When both the hot and cold valves are open at the water shut off, there is a banging pipes sound that sounds like it is in the wall near the shower anytime I am using the sink faucet or flushing the toilet. The banging occurs right after turning off the faucet or after the toilet is done filling back up. I had fastened the pipes to the studs as I ran it and have insulation on the hot lines.

I have opened the wall up in places and have access panels to the copper pipes. I have placed my hand on the pipes in various places and still don't feel any vibrations but some where it sounds like it is banging. Especially a banging sound in the shower area but nothing feels like it is banging at all.

I have placed hammer resistors on the hot and cold right by the shower faucet and that has not rectified the problem. The faucet has the pressure valve and I have another never used faucet of the same and put the "cartridge" in this one that did not resolve the problem.

I have bought a new Moen shower faucet but am afraid that just replacing it and the plumbing will not resolve the issue. Someone mentioned maybe my water pressure in the house is too high and may be the cause. It is an open system, currently. But why would the banging pipe sound stop when I turn off either the hot or cold shut off valve going to the shower only?

Has anyone else came across this? I am at wits end! I will be buying the pressure gauge to check the water pressure. TO replace the whole shower faucet area, it will be a chore since I have a porcelain tile on the shower area. SO I can only work from the access panel on the other side.