Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-22-2007, 03:17 PM   #1

Share |

Anyone use PEX to plumb an entire home?

If anyone read my introduction, I am in the planning stage and wanted some advice on using PEX to plumb the entire house. I have never worked with it, and it sounds easier to install and easier to maintain and less expensive.

I have read no bad reviews for it, and since I am not experienced with it....."if something sounds too good to be true......"

Any suggestions?

scott.martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 04:49 PM   #2
Oldguy

Replumbed a 1906 Victorian. I used all copper inside the walls, and pex underneath (where there will always be access to it). Copper is tried and true, who knows about pex

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 09:12 AM   #3
Journeyman Plumber

Pex is great, we plumb entire houses with this pipe, go for it. Size it out just like copper pipe gets sized.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 10:00 AM   #4
Master Plumber

It is true that whole houses are being plumbed with it now, and different people seem to swear by different brands, and the brands seem to all have their own unique fittings and tools to connect the PEX tubing to the fittings. The early failures seem to happen in the fittings themselves. Everybody seems to agree that it is much easier to install than copper, and although copper tube has it's own problems over time, albeit very few (pinholes comes to mind) The question is how will this PEX tube and fittings stand up over time? This nobody knows for sure.