Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 04:08 PM   #1
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


Is there anything I can do in this situation? I have a 1.125in deck hole in my granite countertop, which fits RO faucets fine, but not air gaps. The existing 1.125 hole is less than an inch away from the edge, so there is a very high possibility the granite will crack if anyone attempts to make it larger; the possibility is so high, that every granite shop I've called in town will not guarantee they won't crack it by making it bigger.

I've called a plumber to take a look at my high drain loop, and he said it looks fine, and didn't change it at all. Problem is, every month or so the drain loop gets backed up and my dishwasher turns my kitchen into a swimming pool.

I've tried looking for 1.125in air gaps, but I don't believe they exist. Is there anything else I can do, or am I stuck with a faulty drain loop, or risk cracking the granite?

I don't mind having an "ugly" air gap on the counter, I just want my dishwasher to work

t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,941
Rewards Points: 2,062
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


An air gap isn't going to stop water from backing up. It'll just leak out in a different place. You need to find out why it's backing up in the first place.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


By any chance, did you secure that drain loop so that it stays in place?

I used a stainless steel clip that is screwed on to the side of the cabinet (underneath my sink) to secure the flex line.
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:53 PM   #4
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,012
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


How is your hose connected to the sink plumbing and is the DW's factory hose used the whole distance? If not, is the extra hose the proper size?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 09:52 PM   #5
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


Get Rid of It. those things are nothing but trouble.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:23 AM   #6
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Air Gap for 1.125in hole?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
An air gap isn't going to stop water from backing up. It'll just leak out in a different place. You need to find out why it's backing up in the first place.
I agree with this. Something is causing the drain to back up, and an air gap won't stop it.

Figure out what the problem is and fix it.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repair Small Hole in Vinyl Siding Silkcityflorida General DIY Discussions 12 04-08-2013 03:34 PM
Cutting Hole for Bathroom exhaust jburchill Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 14 04-16-2012 11:55 AM
patching hole in 8" concrete block BlueBSH Building & Construction 5 08-09-2011 06:55 PM
Need to enlarge hole in wood top plate: or use flex with minimum OD. mysterylectric Electrical 3 08-09-2011 02:52 PM
How to patch hole in duct work and drill new one? Studly HVAC 10 03-03-2009 09:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.