Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2010, 07:34 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Advice/thoughts on plumbing issue

Newbie here, some experience in plumbing, but I'm stuck and need help.

I went to the inspection today for a home we are looking at purchasing, here in Texas. The house was winterized in late January.

We turned on the main at the street, and waited. We noticed the connections on the hot water heater were leaking, compression fittings on copper piping, probably just over tightened, not too serious a leak.

The upstairs bathroom has good pressure, would like to see better. The guest bath down stairs had good pressure, would like to have seen better. Now comes the fun part.

The kitchen sink was running, sucking air, spitting, then stopped, 100% no water, neither hot nor cold. The dishware, own valve but same supply line works just fine. I am thinking the faucet is clogged. The flex hose under the sink seems rigid as if its pressurized, just nothing out of the faucet.

The master bath shower, tub, and toilet all work, could use a little more pressure, but they work. However, the dual vanity sinks have issues. Both sinks have serious flow issues, both on hot and cold.

The house was built in 2002, and the HUD inspector in January only noted the leaks at the hot water heater. My thoughts are the screens on the bathroom faucets are probably clogged, as well as the kitchen sink. But I have never seen a faucet fully quit, not even a drip, that is what is strange to me.