Adding Run To Gas Line??? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-12-2008, 10:51 PM   #1
DIY Expert in Training!

Rewards Points: 250

Adding run to gas line???

Well, since I can't get a plumber willing to work I am taking on this part of the project myself. I will need to switch a 90 degree elbow to a tee and add a line. I will then likely run flexible hose from there along the joist then through three joists and down the wall to where I will install my dryer. Here are my questions:

1) Does this sounds good?
2) How long can I run flexible hose (I'm in Pennsylvania)
3) How do I disconnect an elbow to start the process?

I am new to plumbing...

Thanks,
Kevin

Advertisement

gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 11:58 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to Marlin

Quote:
Originally Posted by gone_fishing View Post
Well, since I can't get a plumber willing to work I am taking on this part of the project myself. I will need to switch a 90 degree elbow to a tee and add a line. I will then likely run flexible hose from there along the joist then through three joists and down the wall to where I will install my dryer. Here are my questions:

1) Does this sounds good?
2) How long can I run flexible hose (I'm in Pennsylvania)
3) How do I disconnect an elbow to start the process?

I am new to plumbing...

Thanks,
Kevin
Gas and threaded pipe is a lousy (difficult) place to start plumbing.
Gas pipe needs to be sized according to how many fixtures using what amount of gas are on the line. So what size is the line you want to tap off of, and what fixtures are already on it?

Given that you can tap off the line you have two options to get that elbow out.
The first is you need to to to the end of the line and un -thread everything before the elbow in order to unthread the elbow.