Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Add a toilet upstairs, connect plumbing to current toilet?


Here is my problem. I have a flip house that upstairs has 2 bedrooms one of which is the master that shares bathrooms. It's terrible. My question is can I add a toilet and make a new bathroom, and tie in the new toilet to the existing toilets plumbing? Is that possible or against code? I have the ability to have the. Litterraky next to each other with just a wall to separate..

Thank you for your answers. I very much appreciate your time.

Jefeclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:45 PM   #2
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,532
Default

Add a toilet upstairs, connect plumbing to current toilet?


I had a hard time understanding your post--With limitations, you can put more than one toilet on the stack but not on the existing toilet arm

TheEplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Add a toilet upstairs, connect plumbing to current toilet?


Sorry to be more clear. Upstairs has one bathroom that 2 bed rooms share. It's quite possibly the worst design ever. However, the actual sqft of the bathroom is HUGE. I'd like to take the huge bathroom and turn it into 2 bathrooms. The problem is adding a toilet.

Is there a way to have 2 toilets on the same plumbing line down? If so what is the best way to do this? The toilets can be right next to each other literally just divided by a wall.




Hope that is more clear?
Jefeclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

Add a toilet upstairs, connect plumbing to current toilet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jefeclay View Post
Is that possible or against code?
Anything is possible.
All you have to do is draw it up on the back of a big enough check.

In that vein... draw it up.

The first toilet drains to a "stack".
How can you get to that stack to extend *another* pipe to the new spot?
What (if anything) is in the way?

Quote:
...
However, the actual sqft of the bathroom is HUGE. I'd like to take the huge bathroom and turn it into 2 bathrooms.
I'm doing something like that this spring.
Stealing some space from the kitchen... rearranging the hall bath layout...
then adding a shower to the Master Bath (and a walk in closet).

2 toilets, 2 lavs, move the tub, add a shower (and the kitchen too)
Wanna come help?

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-21-2012 at 05:55 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
leaking pipe under upstairs toilet mike49 Plumbing 1 06-23-2011 10:03 PM
Basement toilet: Watergenie - how to connect to main stack GD73 Plumbing 1 12-21-2009 10:13 AM
Sewer smell after hooking into plumbing vent daveyd Plumbing 10 08-10-2009 06:25 PM
Can I connect toilet drain to this drain pipe james739 Plumbing 11 04-24-2009 07:06 AM
Where is the toilet vent?!?!? domgbrown Plumbing 4 01-11-2008 06:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.