Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2008, 06:36 PM   #1

Share |

40s home still on Septic Tank? Inspection?

I am in the process of buying a home built in the 40s. It still uses a septic system. The sewer is very close to the property but hasn't been connected. It isn't mand. that you connect to the sewer. However, I am worried about the condition of the septic system. The house has been vacant for 10 years. I didn't notice anything strange in the yard but no one has lived there recently either. Should I have a special inspection done for the septic system? What recommendations do you guys have? Thanks.
twilightcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:06 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

I'm a 21+year real estate broker in a very rural NC area, and I have dealt with many such systems, and have personally lived on (and properly maintained), a septic system for more than 30 years, and I would highly recommend that you connect this home to the public sewer system.
A 1940's home with a septic system that hasn't been lived in for 10 years, isn't necessarily a non-starter, but it is a major red flag.
You can have it inspected by the local Health Department, but in reality all that they're going to do is flush the toilets and run the sink and tub water, and if it doesn't bubble up to the surface, then they're going to "pass" it, but that will not hide the longer term problems with old drainfield lines.
If you buy this home, budget for the public sewer system hookup. You might be able to use the old septic system for rain gutter and sump pump drainage, but do not count on it working for your home.
Good Luck!
Mike

Last edited by Mike Swearingen; 01-10-2008 at 07:11 PM.
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 05:24 AM   #3