Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 03:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,163
Blog Entries: 5
Share |
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


There's a short 20" pipe coming up from the ground, at the side of the house with a turn knob on it. I never knew what it was, but things work in the house so I didn't bother with it.

A plumber is here and went outside to turn off the water and I followed expecting him to go to the buried city thing out by the road. No. He turned off the water main by the faucet at the side.

Personally I think they're both the same distance. He said the faucet was so you didn't have to walk out to the road in the dark.

1983 house. Is this normal to have an extra shutoff at the side of the house? I didn't in my last house. I don't see the point.

Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:42 PM   #2
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Usually there will be an extra shutoff at the house, although in most of the houses I've been in the knob is on an inside wall.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 04:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,857
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Really should have been a ball valve. Very common to have a globe valve not be able to be shut off completly.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,857
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Really should have been a ball valve. Very common to have a globe valve not be able to be shut off completly.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 04:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,163
Blog Entries: 5
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


thanks Kyle. Inside would have been nicer, like in the garage.

Joe, I figured you would know the reason for this. I always appreciate your help.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:34 PM   #6
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,596
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Modern code requires a shut off inside the house now. In my area, the curb stop is owned by the city. If I turn it and it breaks I just bought a valve, including the water dept. crew to install it. Moral of the story is don't touch the street valve---
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 06:37 PM   #7
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,304
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Its been required by code as long as i can remember, now you need 3 the water meter keyed valve , a second one just after your water meter in the ground with an access panel and the third outside under a bib going in to the house.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Javiles For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 09:58 PM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Modern code requires a shut off inside the house now. In my area, the curb stop is owned by the city. If I turn it and it breaks I just bought a valve, including the water dept. crew to install it. Moral of the story is don't touch the street valve---
Our water department puts a stop on their side and a stop on the customer side of the meter now adays. Sometimes the customer side is buried too badly by the concrete box to turn off, or the house is old enough that it doesn't have one on the customer side, and I use the city stop anyway. I use good judgement. If it doesn't turn easy, I leave it alone and tell them they need to get the city to shut it off for me if I have no other means to do so.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alan For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 10:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,163
Blog Entries: 5
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


eplumber,

wow. I did not know that I could be liable if I damaged the city's meter. Thanks.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:39 PM   #10
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
Really should have been a ball valve. Very common to have a globe valve not be able to be shut off completly.
Yes, we have a globe valve but it only slows it down to a trickle. We have to shut it off at the street. Around here all houses have a shutoff just before the meter and a valve in the house.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:33 AM   #11
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,304
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
eplumber,

wow. I did not know that I could be liable if I damaged the city's meter. Thanks.
You don't have to worry about that in Florida homeowner is only responsible from the meter tail piece out,, unless you deliberately damage it
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Javiles For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-09-2013)
Old 05-09-2013, 08:36 AM   #12
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,596
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
You don't have to worry about that in Florida homeowner is only responsible from the meter tail piece out,, unless you deliberately damage it
Around here-a lot of the older homes here have meters in the basement and the line is min. 5' deep and the water line from the curb stop to the house belongs to the homeowner.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
Startingover (05-09-2013)
Old 05-09-2013, 12:52 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,163
Blog Entries: 5
Default

2 main shutoffs for house?


Come to think of it, back in Indiana and Ohio, prior to 1985, we didn't have these ground level city boxes out by the road. They must have been in the basement.

Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Circuit Breaker Question vladmir1111 Electrical 2 08-20-2011 08:15 PM
where to put main vent hohadcr Plumbing 3 03-09-2010 07:32 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.