Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-04-2009, 06:04 PM   #1

Share |

Termite exetermination tenting house.

Hi all,

I am buying a house. The house had a termite inspection and they decided to tent the house. The report list a few areas that show some damage. I wonder if the tenting is usually an indication of a very bad infestation or is it just a precaution? I really do not know what to think of it. My agent tells me that for a house this age (built 1948) is common to find this type of damage. The house looks good and solid on the outside and I have not been able to see any termite damage by my visual inspection around the house. Am I just panicing? This is my first house purchase therefore I am a newbie at this.

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:59 AM   #2

Quote:
The report list a few areas that show some damage.
Make sure you see where the damage is yourself and find out how much there is. Take some pictures and, if possible, post them on this forum. Someone here might be able to tell you if it's anything to worry about. If the termites have been eating breakfast, lunch and dinner there for a long time, there could be some structural issues. I don't think it's common to tent a house as a precaution.

Quote:
My agent tells me that for a house this age (built 1948) is common to find this type of damage.
This comment would make me question the honesty and integrity of your agent. No disrespect to him or her, but it sounds like he

If this is the first time anyone has addressed the termite issue in this house, how do you know how many years they've been there. Get someone (NOT someone your agent recommends) to do a thorough inspection of the area where the damage was found. Any damage should be professionally repaired at the present homeowner's expense.

Quote: