Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-04-2010, 12:03 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

rodent bait pack vs blocks?

hi everyone. I was wondering if anyone knows the pro's and cons and when and where different rodent baits should be used. I am just getting into the extermination business here in Canada, and am looking for some tips, I know of the best baits, but all are mostly avalable in either place pack form or block form, I know one benefit of place packs is apparently it stays fresh longer, but the mice may be able to hoard it and hence not eat it for quite a while..?? However, I havent been able to find any info on the net about when and what situation is appropriate for either type of bait. If anyone has any experience or an answer to these questions, I would greatly apprecite it.

bradbmtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 05:57 PM   #2
pest control operator

Rewards Points: 250

The pellets and meal, both found in place packs as well as in loose bait form, can be hoarded by rodents. I've seen 2 incidents in the past year where the oats and seed in the meal bait was stashed, oats in one pile, and seeds in the other. That said, we still use a lot of meal successfully. I believe that pellets are hoarded more often, just my opinion.

We use Contrac blox and lately, Maki blocks a lot. I am really liking the Maki blocks; the rodents eat the hole block. Other blocks seem to get the edges eaten away until they are round.

Learn about the soft baits (soft like bubble gum). "First Strike" & "Ratimor" are two. Rodents devour it. Be very careful around dogs with the soft baits and blocks (all rodenticide really).