Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2007, 12:37 PM   #1

Share |

Painting for Termites

Hi,

I am currently in escrow to buy a house it is going to be tented for termites. I was planning on insulating and drywalling the garage after the tenting. If I were to paint the inside frame of the garage with primer would that help against termites?

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks

DaGoomba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 04:01 PM   #2

Painting for Termites

I'm not a pest expert, but I have been told that practically nothing will get rid of termites EXCEPT the stuff the pros use. I wouldn't count on priming. Eventually paint wears off and termites won't care, they'll go through anything.

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:03 PM   #3
Eibwen

Painting for Termites

The paint wont help deter new or existing termites. The house should have a clean bill of health termite wise PRIOR to closing. I had a third termite inspection from a company that I paid just to insure it was termite free when I bought my home. And I have annual inpsections from a pro along with my own pokin around.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:38 PM   #4

Painting for Termites

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
The paint wont help deter new or existing termites. The house should have a clean bill of health termite wise PRIOR to closing. I had a third termite inspection from a company that I paid just to insure it was termite free when I bought my home. And I have annual inpsections from a pro along with my own pokin around.
That is a good idea about getting it inspected again prior to closing after the place has been tented.

Thanks guys.
DaGoomba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:50 PM   #5
Eibwen

Painting for Termites

Couple of hundred bucks for a third party, indpendent inspection is money well spent.