Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Pest Control

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-18-2009, 10:34 AM   #1
noob

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Field Mice

Hello,

I have an issue with field mice and looking for advice. We recently moved into a new unfinished development. Once it started getting chilly outside we would hear noises in our attic. I put some traps down up there and caught a few of them, I then purchased some weep hole covers thinking that is how they are getting up there. That seemed to have worked but a few weeks later we heard them again. After doing a search of the house I think I may have found out how they are getting in. It looks like they have crawled between the foundation and hardy plank and actually chewed up through the exterior foam installation and may be making there way in the attic that way.

Now I am not an expert in home building so if that is impossible let me know. What I do know is that there is a hole there big enough for them to get in that way. Now, first how do I fix the hole? Is it simple as just getting a can of foam and filling it or is there more to it. Next how can I keep this from happening again, is there a device that I can place between the hardy plank and foundation to keep these critters from going up there?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited by packetwalker; 01-18-2009 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Format Correction
packetwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:09 AM   #2
noob

Field Mice

I may have found a possible solution, my idea would be to stuff some Copper Wire Mesh Wool between the foundation and Hardyplank, it comes in 200ft rolls. Has anyone had any experience with this type product? Does it work well against these little vermin? How does it hold up over time?

Old 01-27-2009, 01:01 PM   #3

Field Mice