What Can I Do About This Picture Frame? - Interior Decorating - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Interior Decorating

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-07-2012, 05:38 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

What can I do about this picture frame?

Hey!

So, I'm a sophomore in college going for a very eclectic-look. To describe my style, I'll set up a scenario... in Western Europe, ie. London, during the 1800s, there was a lot of trade coming in from Asia such as spices, silk, gun powder, etc. so a lot of the oriental decor and culture was introduced into Europe. Now, I'm an American going for the 1800s London-look with the oriental culture trickling in. I've got a lot of wooden cigar boxes, dark ruby red glassware, modern-looking oriental porcelain, and old London-looking items.

As far as this picture frame goes.. I like the dark wood on, and the simplicity of it. I believe the frame is 8x11 landscape or about those dimensions. What I was thinking was taking paper and aging it by dipping the plain paper in a tray of tea, which is a technique I learned when I made a copy constitution for a school project way back in the day.
Game plan: take the paper and replace the blue background behind the actual picture.. so now I'll have this blank piece of aged paper in the frame.. what would I put as a centerpiece of the picture to replace the current black and white plantation house?

Can you handle the challenge? Here's some pictures of the frame:

What can I do about this picture frame?-021.jpg

What can I do about this picture frame?-023.jpg

Advertisement

bakenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 08:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

You've got nothing to lose by trying it. If you don't like the result its easy to return it to its original state

Advertisement

creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:26 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,000