Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Interior Decorating

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-11-2010, 03:02 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Trim Color

Hello All

Newbie here with some questions related to trim. Quick background is that I live in Northern California and my 1,500 sq. ft. home was built in 2004. The house' trim is semi-gloss I think and the color is Morrison White (Morrison is the home builder and Kelley Moore is the paint brand) and it has a slight yellow to it when compared to the cooler whites.

I recently added window sills to the home made of MDF. My home-improvement buddy suggested I use and oil-based paint for added protection so I painted them gloss white using Rustoleum oil-based paint. I like the way they look and how easy they are to clean.

I am now adding 5 1/4" crown moulding throughout the house. I decided to go with the that size because I have 9 ft. ceilings in case any of you are wondering. Anyway I was going to paint the crown moulding the same gloss white as the sills but now I am having second thoughts.

I prefer things normally quite uniform so my guess is if I paint the crown gloss white I will probably want to paint the rest of the houses trim gloss white. Should the crown be gloss or semi-gloss? And then should I paint the rest of the trim the same? And does it include the closet doors? Any help or suggestions you have are appreciated thank you in advance.

Jawbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 05:19 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Trim Color

I suspect if the existing trim has a yellow tint to it, it will look as though it had yellowed through age if you put bright white trim up around it. You might want to borrow a "whites" color fan deck from the paint store to see if you can match the existing trim (unless you hate it) or find some compromise in between.