Question Regarding Tearing Down Wall - Interior Decorating - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Interior Decorating

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-09-2011, 11:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Question regarding tearing down wall

Hello all, this is my first time here and it seems like w great forum.

I just finished closing on my first apartment; it is a two bedroom with the living room and kitchen being separated by a "half wall".

I have the option to either just put a big tv on the wall and a couch opposite or tear down the wall and make it an open space.

I'm attaching several pictures and hoping for some opinions.

I really like the open space but don't know where to put the TV because I would like a big one with surround sound.

Name:  image-3803678239.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  18.9 KB

My apartment.

Name:  image-3154876829.jpg
Views: 117
Size:  38.7 KB

Apartment with wall taken down and tv in the corner

Name:  image-3424036920.jpg
Views: 116
Size:  29.1 KB

Apartment with wall intact and tv on it

Advertisement

Nef1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 03:11 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

I'm not an interior decorator but I will say that my first thought was, "that's in the way." If it serves only the purpose of hanging the TV on... get rid of it. If it gives you the possibility of having additional cabinetry on the kitchen side think long and hard about whether or not you have enough countertop space now.

It would certainly open your space up tremendously.

Advertisement

JustADoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:59 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 250