Help With Kitchen/dining Room Colors (really Need Help) - Interior Decorating - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Interior Decorating

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-25-2011, 07:40 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Help with kitchen/dining room colors (really need help)

I bought a foreclosure and redid most everything. I'm a newbie when it comes to interior design but I've read a number of books, know the color wheel concepts etc.

Well the floors are a deep chocolate hardwood that you can't see in the pictures.

The cabinets are natural maple and the countertops I splurged on, they are blue pearl granite. The backsplash is a light gray.

I painted the walls blue thinking it would help bring out the countertops, instead I'm drowning them out and they aren't very noticable. What color should I paint the walls so that the countertops are more of a feature? Sorry for the picture quality, all I had was my cell phone.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with kitchen/dining room colors (really need help)-2011-07-14_17-52-57_781-1.jpg   Help with kitchen/dining room colors (really need help)-2011-07-14_17-52-38_656-2.jpg  

Advertisement

claythrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:37 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

IMHO the blue is to dark to accent the countertops. Blue is ok, just lighter or think about a very soft toast color. The toast would bring out the wood floors and the cabinets and at eye level the countertops would be the darker color making them stand out more.

Advertisement

m1951mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:44 AM   #3

I tried a lighter blue originally and it also didn't look good. You can see the original blue on the wall that abutts the cabinets vs the blue under the radius countertop. So I'm going to go non-blue.