Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Interior Decorating

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Decorative or not?

Hello all,

I'm a first time homebuyer & I've found a home that I'm considering putting an offer on but there are a couple of things I'd like to tweak, along with standard upgrades. Looking at these pictures, can anyone tell me if the beams in this house look to be load bearing, or just decorative? If they are just decorative I'd like to take them out. I'm no construction expert, I know about load bearing walls, partitions & columns, but wasn't sure about the horizontal beams. It doesnt LOOK like its supporting anything, but I figure its best to ask for the advice of experienced owners/contractors/agents out here.

Also, there is a picture of the formal dining room with a cutout window into the kitchen. Eventually I'll probably want to remodel the kitchen and take out that wall as well. Its not a full wall - it doesnt go all the way up, but there is a part in the front that looks like its probably load bearing, because the column does go all the way up to the ceiling. Any off-hand thoughts on how I could remove that wall and replace the column with a beam maybe, or something else?

I really appreciate any and all input on this!!
Attached Images

tarraha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:46 AM   #2
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,136

Decorative or not?