Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2007, 12:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Yet another question about Laminate


Hello everyone,
My name is Jesse Gabbard and I'm from Lexington, KY. UK plays South Carolina tonight to see who takes over the top spot as #1 in the SEC East. Go cats!

This weekend, I am installing Shaw Laminate. A few questions:

1) Is this brand ok?
2) The subfloor is wood (over a basement) and it is pretty wavy. Should I add filler and sand the surface before installing the flooring? Or would it be ok to just put the foam underlay and then the flooring?
3) I am going from Bruce hardwood flooring (3/4" prefinished wood) to laminate and am concerned about the transition between the 2. The hardwood has a, I guess you would call it, beveled edge. Is the transition strip going to be enough to cover this?
4) I am also worried about making my cuts. I am not the steadiest person in the world. Am I correct in assuming the the quarter round is going to forgive all of my inequities?

Go Cats and thanks for your time.
Jesse

loomis1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Yet another question about Laminate


if your basement is already laid with Bruce hardwood flooring... why downgrade it to laminate?

if that's what you want... wood flooring/subflooring is a bit unusual in basement due to moisture concern... I assume you have that all taken care of by using some sort of plastic or platform layers underneath.... if this is not the case... you may want to address that first....

other questions for installing laminate: quarter round is more than enough to cover all the gaps... you don't need to worry about that a bit... it is very easy and forgiving... well as long as the gap is not way off which is very unnormal..... trust me... my wife can do it... anyone can do it...

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 04:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Yet another question about Laminate


[quote=KUI****G;66298]if your basement is already laid with Bruce hardwood flooring... why downgrade it to laminate? [quote]

I'm sorry--the dining room and kitchen have Bruce hardwood. The living room and bedroom have contractor grade nasty/filthy/dirty carpet.
loomis1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 11:10 AM   #4
Zoomingo
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Yet another question about Laminate


Shaw is a good laminate but as with any flooring, you do have different qualities available. Shaw does happen to be one of the largest flooring manufacturers in the world. As KUI****G stated, it is a little odd to have wood subfloor in the basement, however, I would make sure to lay a plastic barrier down, then the underlayment, to ensure moisture is kept a bay.

Jason
zoomingo.com
Zoomingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Yet another question about Laminate


[quote=loomis1228;66285]Hello everyone,
My name is Jesse Gabbard and I'm from Lexington, KY. UK plays South Carolina tonight to see who takes over the top spot as #1 in the SEC East. Go cats!

This weekend, I am installing Shaw Laminate. A few questions:

1) Is this brand ok?
2) The subfloor is wood (over a basement) and it is pretty wavy. Should I add filler and sand the surface before installing the flooring? Or would it be ok to just put the foam underlay and then the flooring?
3) I am going from Bruce hardwood flooring (3/4" prefinished wood) to laminate and am concerned about the transition between the 2. The hardwood has a, I guess you would call it, beveled edge. Is the transition strip going to be enough to cover this?

If I understand it correctly, you are not installing in a basement, but, on the first floor above the basement. If so, no barrier is needed. Let us know how it goes.
flooring dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laminate in Basement Question atilla137 Flooring 16 11-10-2007 07:44 PM
Ready to lay laminate... Question... KUIPORNG Flooring 6 04-13-2007 02:17 PM
Laminate Flooring Transition Question flysndoc Flooring 1 01-29-2007 10:48 PM
Laminate Flooring Question cacell Flooring 6 03-03-2006 05:44 PM
Question about mills on laminate flooring cpsilo1 Flooring 3 07-25-2005 12:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.