Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 08:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Wood Flooring


My house has an above grade slab foundation. The concrete has been acid stained and sealed with several coats polyurethane. Can I use a glue down engineered flooring over this?

Sonyaeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:54 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,566
Default

Wood Flooring


May have to remove the Poly.

The people to ask this question of are the adhesive manufacturers.

Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Wood Flooring


Thanks, That's what I was afraid of! I love the acid stain floor and the finish is in great condition but.... it is dark,dark brown and I find myself sweeping and mopping daily and it still looks dirty.
Sonyaeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,548
Default

Wood Flooring


It can also be glued at the T & G and in effect making it a floating floor.
I'd lay down a vaper barrier first.
Check out some of the web sites of the manufactures and look up install instrutions.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Sonyaeman (01-05-2012)
Old 01-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #5
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,749
Default

Wood Flooring


You could always add some area rugs.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Wood Flooring


Hey Bud, Could I install Travertine over the poly, directly to the floor without any type of Duroc?
Sonyaeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:08 PM   #7
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,566
Default

Wood Flooring


Again, the Poly would have to be removed.

Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud Cline For This Useful Post:
Sonyaeman (01-05-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSB Stronger than Plywood? Weathermaker01 Flooring 15 12-22-2012 09:06 AM
Ready to paint the porch! Oil or latex? Leah Frances Painting 8 07-26-2011 07:29 PM
Electric Outlets under wood flooring jeh154 Electrical 3 08-09-2010 10:05 AM
Engineered or Solid Wood flooring on stairs VickyC Flooring 1 03-05-2010 06:50 PM
Do I need to replace a rotten sill plate met Carpentry 8 07-11-2008 09:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.