Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2007, 10:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

wood floor


Hi,

I would like to know whatis the best approach to my little project. I would like to put wood floors in my basement (currently cement) and I notice that my floors are not straight everywhere. I've verified & a some levels of the fllow there upto a 3 nich difference in the floor (basically, my floor isn't straight). What would I do to make my floor straight? I'm thinking, to apply cement until the floor is leveL? How about self-leveling cemt? Or do I "smash" the higher parts of my floor to level it to the rest (which I really don't feel like doing)... any ideas please...

thanks jj

jayjay66@hotbot.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 10:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 252
Default

wood floor


since you want to put wood floors in I would use 2x lumber and shims to level the floor. Put styrofoam insulation between the 2x's. apply a moisture barrier and nail the flooring down....

What have I done is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 05:09 PM   #3
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Default

wood floor


Your floor is probably sloping downward towards the floor drain. In the event of a flood the water will drain away but if you try to level the concrete flat you will have lost this drainage. "What have I done" had some good advise, or if you have the budget you could install and level a "Dricore" subfloor. I've used this product a number of times and am quite happy with it.
ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 04:18 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default

wood floor


Hi All,

Thanks for the tips. Ron, I've looked at the "Dricore" subfloors and looks very interersting but I still don't understand how I could make my floors level with it. Would I need to install the Dricore levelling kit? The Dricore levelling kit is recommened for any gaps greater than 1/4 inch. What would I do for the levels that are 2-3 inches (the dips). Would I need to put 10-15 of these levls underneath the dricore to make it level? what would I need to do exactly?

Thanks,
jj
jayjay66@hotbot.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 04:40 PM   #5
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 3,969
Default

wood floor


Forget any wood unless you can make the floor flat. Wood isn't such a good idea below grade in the first place. Matter of fact most manufacturers will tell you just that.

What brand and type specificlly were you thinking of using?

Jaz
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 06:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default

wood floor


Hi all,

Hmmmm, I think we've changed our mind and are goign to go with laminate floors (on top of the dricore). My floors are sloping and I'm pretty sure there's a drain somewhere but I cannot seem to find it right now.

I think I'm sold on the dricore but my question would be the dricore levelling kits. Would I need to install 10-15 leveling pads under certain dricore pannels?? Is that the way to do it for the diffrence ? would that be the best way to do it?

thanks,
jj
jayjay66@hotbot.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 07:23 PM   #7
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 3,969
Default

wood floor


Why had you wanted a wooden floor in the basement in the first place? What are the conditions? Is the area damp, do you have to run a dehumidifier in the summer or non A/C periods? Is your house elevated and the landscaping slopes away from the house at least 1" per ft. away? Has anyone ever smelled a moldy musty smell in the basement or in objects that were stored on the floor more a long time?

Jaz
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 06:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default

wood floor


Hi,

No to all your questions. The basement is perfectly fine (mold freee - never had water leakage), I just thought wood floors would be a lot nicer that's all.

We've changed our mind and are going to go with the laminate floors (on top of the dricore). My question would be the dricore levelling kits. Would I need to install 10-15 leveling pads under certain dricore panels?? Is that the way to do it for the diffrence in height? would that be the best way to do it?

thanks,
jj
jayjay66@hotbot.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:29 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default

wood floor


Xxxxxxxxx

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 09-06-2007 at 04:55 AM. Reason: Spam
bjnsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:37 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

wood floor


laminate can adapt to certain unlevel situation... dricore is very expensive... is as expensive as the laminate itself if not more... there are cheaper solution with the equivalent effect out there... search the web you will find...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:46 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default

wood floor


Hi,

I'm gonna go with the dricore, but my question (which stills remain unanswered) is:

My question would be the dricore levelling kits. Would I need to install 10-15 leveling pads under certain dricore panels?? Is that the way to do it for the diffrence in height? would that be the best way to do it?

thanks,
jj
jayjay66@hotbot.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:57 PM   #12
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 3,969
Default

wood floor


Jay,

I think you are about to make a big mistake. But you can go ahead and do it anyway. If you want to know how the system works, have you considered asking the company that makes it? The one that is going to take your $$$? They will have answers to your questions.

Jaz
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:13 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

wood floor


would be real hard I can imagine due to it's size... instead should just fill up any hole...etc.... putting shim here or there for every piece you lay... it is going to be so time consuming... I can imagine it can be done... just may be takes 10 times longer....

I done my basement with laminate ... there are a couple of places with small bounce the first day after installation... however... after using for a couple of weeks... all bounce spot settle down and don't feel any bouncy at all... because of furnitures... people stepping on it...etc.etc......
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 04:04 PM   #14
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Default

wood floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjay66@hotbot.com View Post
Hi,

I'm gonna go with the dricore, but my question (which stills remain unanswered) is:

My question would be the dricore levelling kits. Would I need to install 10-15 leveling pads under certain dricore panels?? Is that the way to do it for the diffrence in height? would that be the best way to do it?

thanks,
jj
Sorry for the slow reply, I've been busy installing tile floors. I think you will have to put up with a slope in the basement. I wouldn't use a whole wack of dricore shims to reduce the 2-3" slope . Try to bring it down to around 1 and a half or 2 inches. If it's a long room you will hardly even notice it. Any serious dips or "potholes" should be repaired with SLC. Remember, preperation is 80% of a quality job so take the time and effort to get it right the first time.

ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Laminate Flooring over Wood Laminate Floor bantammom Flooring 7 05-27-2011 03:34 PM
Wood floor help/suggestions bigboyjoel Flooring 18 12-31-2008 12:02 PM
Ceramic over Old Hard Wood Floor???? cuinthemoon Flooring 1 08-13-2007 08:23 PM
Wood floor or carpet? darsunt Flooring 9 08-03-2007 11:12 PM
Leveling wood floor helpless handyman Building & Construction 1 10-17-2006 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.