Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-29-2010, 02:33 AM   #1

Share |

What Type Of Subfloor Is This?

Hi Everyone, my name's Frederick. I'm a newcomer to the forums. I've been a long DIYer, but this is my first time trying to modify a house.

I'm looking to do a bit of additional soundproofing in my second floor condominium. Over the last 2 years I have noticed that the sound transmission through the structure of the building (as well as airborne) is fairly high.

I'm already looking into adding a layer of drywall with Green Glue over some existing walls, but I'm at a loss as to what to do with the flooring. I pulled up a corner of the carpet and I found what I believe is Gypcrete underneath, but I'm not certain. Can someone help me identify the material in the pictures below? The carpet already installed had its tack strips and pad stapled to whatever this is, which leads me more to suspect it is Gypcrete (unless you can staple into lightweight concrete?). I can also score it using the edge of a flathead screwdriver without too much difficulty.

Assuming it is Gypcrete what can I do with it? I was hoping to put another layer of OSB down with Green Glue and recarpet over it. However, I don't know the best way to attach the OSB to the Gypcrete. I don't think Green Glue alone is enough, but I'm wary of screwing into the Gypcrete directly. It does look like it has some sort of spray/sealant over the material to protect against moisture at least.

I've sent an email to the condominium association asking what it is, but they're somewhat less that diligent with the speed of their replies if they decide to reply at all.

Thanks!

FJhay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:37 AM   #2
Soundproofing Guy

Hi Frederick,

That could be gypcrete, or a concrete slab. You can't damp (Green Glue) a slab. Too massive.

Same with block walls, in case that's what you have.