Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2009, 10:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Share |
Default

what substrate to use?


i want to remove a sheet vinyl floor in a bath and replace it with ceramic or porcelain tile. When we remodeled this bath 10 years ago, we put a particle board subfloor in over the original floor because of bad areas where the toilet and sink were. the floor in the adjacent hallway and living area are the original red oak flooring which we had refinished. My question is, will i need to remove and replace the subfloor with cement board? If i go over the wood subfloor it will make it quite a bit higher than the flooring in the adjacent area. any suggestions?

sagechickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

what substrate to use?


Ceramic tile requires a VERY rigid floor, min 1 1/4". If it is not rigid/stiff, you will have cracking tile and/or grout. If there is still particle board, get rid of it, it makes a poor substrate for tile. What is the subfloor?? Usually 1/2 or 3/4 plywood. If 1/2", add another layer of 1/2" glued screwed to the first, with seams in different locations, then add 1/4 duroc or hardibacker set in thinset and screwed. If 3/4 subfloor, add 1/2" backer as above.

The biggest probelm with adding thickness to a bathroom floor is raising the toilet flange. It should be flush to 1/4" above the finished floor.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

what substrate to use?


i misspoke about the subfloor. It is OSB over plywood and not particle board. We put that in over the existing bad subfloor. I can deal with the toilet flange issue. my concern is that i will have a large offset between the bathroom floor and the adjoining hardwood floor in the hallway after the tile is in, especially if i have to put the cement board over the existing substrate.
sagechickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 489
Default

what substrate to use?


Strip down the unnecessary layers and damaged layers. Make sure you stagger new underlayments. Without knowing your joist size and spacing no proper determination can be made for required layers. Sometimes 3/4 alone is sufficient but not always recommended. 3/4 plus 1/2 is great. Think about using Ditra. It's a lot thinner and has a much better record than cement board.
__________________
Josh Jaros Remodeling in The Woodlands, Texas www.jarosbros.com
jaros bros. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

what substrate to use?


Thanks. i'm not familiar with that product but i think i know what it is. The subfloor is sound, i'm certain. this bath was remodeled about 10 years ago and i'm confident it is structurally sound. I am just concerned about the additional height off the adjoining floor if i have to put this cement board-type stuff down on top of my existing floor. There will be close to an inch or maybe more, of height difference.
Also, is it recommended to take out the cabinets and put the flooring under there? These are quality base cabinets.
sagechickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 07:49 AM   #6
Member
 
ccarlisle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,889
Default

what substrate to use?


The cement board recommended for floor is only 1/4" thick...1/2" goes on walls and neither offer any real structural support. Ditra is another 1/4" tops - so you have room.
__________________
“The average American woman is about 25 pounds heavier than she was in 1960...Recognizing obesity as a disease will help change the way the medical community tackles this complex issue that affects approximately 1 in 3 Americans,”
ccarlisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 09:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

what substrate to use?


ok i get that. add another 1/8 for the tile on top of that and there is 3/8 plus the 1/2 from the subfloor we put under the vinyl.
Nobody has told me how to deal with the big offset between this new flooring and the adjoining original floor level in the hallway.
sagechickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 10:01 AM   #8
Member
 
ccarlisle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,889
Default

what substrate to use?


You mean you need more height? Just add 1/2" underlayment under the Ditra.
__________________
“The average American woman is about 25 pounds heavier than she was in 1960...Recognizing obesity as a disease will help change the way the medical community tackles this complex issue that affects approximately 1 in 3 Americans,”
ccarlisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 12:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 489
Default

what substrate to use?


You will have to put a tapered threshold in.
__________________
Josh Jaros Remodeling in The Woodlands, Texas www.jarosbros.com
jaros bros. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 01:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

what substrate to use?


I don't need more height! i have more than i want. Are tapered threshholds easy to come by? or do they have to be made? The guy who refinished my oak floors made one for the transition to the kitchen floor which is higher also and for the same reason.

sagechickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dark over light...Do I need tinted primer? melissaandkris Painting 17 09-09-2011 10:43 AM
Latex over alkyd primer TVC15 Painting 15 08-14-2010 11:42 PM
dura ceramic sparky9999 Flooring 20 03-03-2009 11:43 AM
Tiling or sheet goods over varied substrate? PricelessDharma Flooring 1 01-22-2008 06:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.