Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 05:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

vapor/moisture barrier necessary?


Another newbie question:
Being that my condo is on the 3rd floor in an apartment building is it necessary to have any sort of vapor/moisture barrier installed over the concrete slab subfloor before I put down Advantech underlayment for a 5/8" strand woven bamboo floor.
There is an 1/8" layer of "insulayment underlayment" on top of the concrete but I don't know if that is all that is necessary.
Thanks in advance!

eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:14 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

vapor/moisture barrier necessary?


According to their website: "Hardwood floors: May be applied directly over 23/32" AdvanTech flooring panels"

However, they also say to follow the installation recommendations of the flooring manufacturer. How do you plan to install the flooring?

Gevans17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

vapor/moisture barrier necessary?


Hi Gevans17, thanks for taking the time to offer your help.
I'm planning on laying the Advantech over the insulayment that is already down & then nailing/stapling the Bamboo to the Advantech. The insulayment doesn't appear to be a moisture/vapor barrier, just a noise dampener, so I'm worried about moisture coming up from the concrete subfloor, going thru the insulayment & & either causing mold or warping the bamboo.
I know the concrete subfloor is above grade but I can't find information online about whether above grade concrete subflooring needs a vapor/moisture barrier or not.
Again, thanks for any help you can offer.
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 07:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

vapor/moisture barrier necessary?


might want to contact the manufacturer of your hardwood flooring for their specific instructions. Most manufacturers tell you to check the moisture content of the slab with a moistrue meteer pprior to installation. I floated my floor over concrete slab on a Floormuffler underlayment. Floormuffler acts as both sound and moisture barrier. Costs approx 60 cents per sq ft.
Gevans17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 11:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

vapor/moisture barrier necessary?


Thanks again Gevans17. I will check with the floor manufacturer. I have no idea if moisture tests were even done on the concrete as the construction company who built the building is ridiculously inept & its looking like a class-action lawsuit may be down the road. Fun!
Thanks again.
eis61374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom Vapor Barrier milkmoney Remodeling 9 03-11-2009 09:31 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
moisture barrier - help! jediracer Carpentry 12 10-03-2006 06:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.