Uneven Floors?! - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-27-2013, 08:44 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Uneven Floors?!

Im new to all of this so bare with me if Im in the wrong place Anyways... I am looking at a older house (built 1976) in real estate. It has a very good price on it but needs some work. Mostly cosmetic things like paint and new flooring. I noticed that one of the bedroom floors are sagging but the wood doesnt appear to be rotten or anything. I also saw that the sunroom is actually an addition that was built around a small concrete porch (all the floors are already bare) Where the addition meets the exsisting floor it meets level in the middle and about an inch lower on each side. Can anyone tell me how hard its going to be to replace the saggy bedroom floor and level out the sunroom? Would it even be worth trying to fix? I just dont want to get myself into a disaster!

Advertisement

ashlowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:14 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 528

Uneven Floors?!

Could be most anything from undersized joist, to long a span, insect infestation, fungus weaking the joist, cracked joist, sinking piers.
Going to need a trained eye to figure out what needs to be done.

As far as the slab, once again it could be it sunk (very common when the wrong fill or not compacted enough) or as simple as it was not pored flat enough.
That could be fixed with some floor leveler or if it sinking by having mud jacking done.

Asking any questions about what things cost is not going to end well on this site, no one has seen the property, nows your local labor rates, material cost, has even seen the job.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:25 AM   #3

Uneven Floors?!