Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 07:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Underpad required for indoor/outdoor carpet?


Want to put indoor/outdoor (commercial) carpet in a room of a house, is underpadding really necessary? I had a room in my previous house that did not have padding underneath and I liked the firmness of it. But would I be better off getting the padding anyway?

ibanez_rocker06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 07:16 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Underpad required for indoor/outdoor carpet?


Hi and welcome.

It's purely a matter of preference if it's your house.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 08:33 PM   #3
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,781
Default

Underpad required for indoor/outdoor carpet?


Pad isn't necessary. But there is no such thing as indoor/outdoor carpet. Commercial carpet will fall apart if it gets wet continually, like outdoors. The only carpet that water won't hurt is turf. I don't think you would want turf indoors.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best quality underpad to use for laminate?? sillysimms Flooring 4 07-27-2011 05:05 PM
Moving a Fridge, is a dedicated circuit required...or not? Snowy334 Electrical 7 07-03-2009 12:36 PM
Compressor cfm rating required for framing nailer tmeehan Tools 8 05-01-2009 11:17 AM
Massachusetts - Licensing required to Re-Roof ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 5 03-01-2009 06:53 AM
AFCI combo now required? KE2KB Electrical 4 10-31-2008 01:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.