Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

underlayment necessary?


Hey, quick question here. We are buying about 350 square feet of stranded bamboo solid flooring for our dining room that sits on 3/4" osb.
There's a finished basement underneath.
The guy at lumber liquidators told me it would be about 450 bucks for the bellawood underlay and two transition pieces.

Sounds bogus to me. It's not engineered or laminate and its getting nailed and glued. So is underlaynent necessary? And of it is doesn't that sound like a rip off. I.can get 100 sq foot rolls of underlay ay lowes for $25. Thanks for any help.

daphillenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:42 PM   #2
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


I would just put rosin paper or even cork paper down and call it a day. Your basement is finished so you should have insolation in ceiling down there. I can tell you that direct contact from plywood to hardwood will make sounds at some point In the future so the paper will prevent that. I personally don't believe in the vapor barrier if your shooting hundred of nails through it.

JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JetSwet For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (10-17-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 05:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

underlayment necessary?


I've never head of anyone using glue on a hardwood floor.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


personally i would not buy anything at lumber liquidators. they wanted more for unfinished brazillian tigerwood than they did for the prefinished. i found the unfinished for over 2.00 a square foot cheaper. before you purchase i would search for reviews of lumber liquidators. rosin paper or roofing felt is what is normally used. they were just trying to make extra money off of you.how much extra flooring did they sell you? how big is your dining room? i bet they sold you at least 2 or more boxes of flooring then you need and i have heard from different people that they won't let you return it.

Last edited by DannyT; 10-10-2012 at 06:04 PM.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:04 PM   #5
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
I've never head of anyone using glue on a hardwood floor.
I'm with you on that one Joe, maybe this brand of floor requires glue?...
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Sorry just meant nails.....

Looks like the wife went ahead and purchased a diff floor at that store today without telling me! Son of a.....

Anyway, the one she bought was a floating floor, but thankfully she didn't buy their foam....

I'll probably use the rosin paper then since ill need one now. Thanks anyways guys..
daphillenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:40 PM   #7
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by daphillenium
Sorry just meant nails.....

Looks like the wife went ahead and purchased a diff floor at that store today without telling me! Son of a.....

Anyway, the one she bought was a floating floor, but thankfully she didn't buy their foam....

I'll probably use the rosin paper then since ill need one now. Thanks anyways guys..
Wait just a second!.....if its a floating floor you need a foam vapor barrier or you will void warranty and will not sound right if you use rosin paper when walking on. Hardwood gets paper & floating gets foam.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

underlayment necessary?


If she did not buy the flooring with a built in pad your going to have to go back and buy some.
Go on the companys web site and see what they have to say about it.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:44 PM   #9
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


If its floating interlocking laminate... No nails nor glue gets used, stagger seams 12" apart and make exspantion 1/4" from wall.
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

underlayment necessary?


Sorry Jet we must have been typing at the same time.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:13 PM   #11
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
Sorry Jet we must have been typing at the same time.
Lol it happens
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:05 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Thanks guys, its a stranded bamboo, not laminate, but it is an interlocking floating floor so yeah it looks like I will have to use the foam, is that right? Thanks!
daphillenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:45 PM   #13
Member
 
JetSwet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lagrangeville NY
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by daphillenium
Thanks guys, its a stranded bamboo, not laminate, but it is an interlocking floating floor so yeah it looks like I will have to use the foam, is that right? Thanks!
Yes use foam if floating that's all! Lol
JetSwet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:44 AM   #14
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,163
Rewards Points: 0
Default

underlayment necessary?


Yep use foam underlayment. However, the price they quoted you on it is outrageous. Not a single product I sell of this type runs more than $50.00 per 100sf roll at full retail. Be thankful she got the floating floor. You'd would've found out just how frustrating putting a nail is strandwoven bamboo without cracking it can be.
__________________
Darkling Designs
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:55 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

underlayment necessary?


http://www.lumberliquidators.com/ll/...APREM/10023615

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/2" sublfoor...what underlayment for hardwood? Jrhenry24 Flooring 10 10-04-2012 07:57 PM
concrete tile roof underlayment recommendations?? bobinphx Roofing/Siding 9 08-14-2012 10:20 PM
Replacing underlayment in entire house...what material to use? Dave321 Flooring 23 12-23-2011 02:38 PM
Underlayment question-- "extending" existing underlayment fastener and type cbrc5eric Flooring 9 06-01-2011 04:03 PM
Underlayment height for tile / carpet.... scheenstra Flooring 2 04-23-2008 12:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.