Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-18-2009, 12:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Travertine Upstairs

I plan to replace my carpet upstairs and want to know what materials, if any, will be needed in addition to the glue, travertine, spacers, grout and sealer.

Deb K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 01:08 PM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

Travertine Upstairs

I'm not an expert, I just read this forum waaay too much.

Along with that you will need tools such as trowel, grout float, sponges, etc. along with some method of cutting the tile (saw etc.) You also want to be sure you have chosen the right "glue", ie thinset, for the application.

I don't know if you are planning on doing this yourself or are purchasing supplies for someone with more of a background in tiling but I'll throw this out just in case: Before you start buying stuff, you want to be absolutely sure your floor will handle travertine. If there is too much deflection (or bounce) in the floor your grout will crack, tiles will pop off and you'll end up with a mess.

At the top of the flooring forum is a sub-forum for tiling. I would recommend poking around there a bit.

Not affiliated with the following (nod to the mods), but this site might also help you with more research on tiling.

http://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php?

http://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/deflecto.pl

Last edited by Blondesense; 10-18-2009 at 01:13 PM.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 01:54 PM   #3

Travertine Upstairs