Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 132
Share |
Default

tiling under new furnace


Hello,
I am getting a new furnace in early January, and while that's being done, I thought I would solve a problem I have in the furnace room.

originally, the furnace room floor was made up of 9" x 9" asbestos tile. I found that out when I renovated the basement bathroom. On top of this tile is 12" x 12" standard VCT tile. When I peek under the furnace, I can see that the 12" VCT stops at a certain point, meaning there is a small patch of 2 or 3 tiles that were not done under the furnace. Also, the floor was never sealed, and when water gets in the cracks, it gets ugly. I plan on sealing the floor myself soon.

Why does this matter? my family who lives in this house are not very observant all of the time, and the basement floor sometimes gets slightly flooded due to carelessness with lint in the basement sink. The floor drain is clogged too sometimes. I do my best to maintain the place, but I am not always there.

I wish to seal the floor, and to prevent future problems I want to tile under the furnace. I was thinking of using one sheet resilient flooring under the furnace.

Understandably, the HVAC guys who are coming in to do the furnace will not put up with a very large window of inconvenience. resilient flooring does not have to be finished like the vct tile.

Is there a glue that I could use on top of the old asbestos tile that dries really - really -really fast, so that the HVAC guys could put a load on top (furnace)???? I am also concerned, that the resilient flooring is soft, and the furnace may settle. I don't know if that would cause any problems.

Or is there any other ideas that someone has to solve this problem? I was wondering also if it is a bad idea to lay down the resilient piece with no adhesive

thanks
-g

Last edited by gramps416; 12-28-2010 at 02:38 PM.
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 132
Default

tiling under new furnace


bump!
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 132
Default

tiling under new furnace


does anyone have an answer to this?
-g
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 21
Default

tiling under new furnace


gramps - why do you think there was originally the asbestos? Because it is heat resistant and does not burn! And you want to put stuff under the furnace that is combustible? You do so, the HAVAC guys will turn and go back home, because they cannot break local laws. Nobody here cannot give you real advice because we do not know your local building and fire codes. Talk to the people who will do the installation. And do not mess with the asbestos on your own. Just a friendly advice.
stary kozel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 132
Default

tiling under new furnace


It is asbestos, I encountered the same tile when I renovated a bathroom in the basement couple of years ago. As I said in the post, I have no intentions of ripping up the floor, I just want to throw down 6 tiles or a sheet to level the floor on top of the asbestos 9" tiles. There are no laws broken with encapsulation where I live, or for most areas (from what I know) for that matter. Though it is an interesting point.

Are there any solutions to this problem? p.s. I have just secured the water hose to the sink, but overflows still occur from time to time.
-gramps
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.