Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-26-2008, 07:45 PM   #1

Share |

Tile floor with I-Joists

Hi all,

I have Never done tile before but have been reading here for a while
I am trying to find out if my floor is Strong enough to put down ceramic tile. I have 10" I-joists they are 2 foot on center and span 13 feet 3/4" osb sub floor. If I cover this with 3/8 plywood,1/4 inch cement board then use ditra over that would this handle the tile.

thank you
Jen

jenlc75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 10:08 PM   #2

Tile floor with I-Joists

I don't have my span charts with me, but at 24" oc spanning 13', I imagine they're at the long end of the span chart. Lack of stiffness/excessive deflection in the floor might be an issue, which could lead to a tile job that won't hold up too well.

Your plan for adding plywood is a good one. That never hurts. 1/4" wonderboard set in thinset and screwed down will also work as a substrate.

Ditra is a great product, but I don't see any reason to use it over plywood when you can install cement board and plan to do so. On a concrete floor, Ditra is great. You just don't need it for this application.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 10:21 PM   #3
Tileguy

Tile floor with I-Joists

Hi Jen,

You'll have to contact the manufacturer of your I-joists to get their deflection value. I recommend you ask them to rate them at 50lbs. live and 20 lbs. dead load. The maximum deflection for ceramic or porcelain is L360, hopefully your number will be higher, which means less deflection. For example, joists rated at L480 are stiffer than L360. Natural stone requires L720.

I looked at my Trus Joist chart thinking that is what you have. Maybe it is, but they don't make a 10", the closest is 9.5" and there are several models. The manufacturer and exact model will be printed on the sides.