Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-30-2012, 08:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Tile Baseboard help needed

Hello,
I am new to this so please bear with me. I have just put porcelain tile on a basement bathroom over a cement floor. Looks great! I have decided to add a tile baseboard (on a painted wall ) but no bull nose is available. After considering several options ie, transition, woodtrim, grout trim, I have decided to try and use caulk on top of the tile to finish it off. My questions are this

1. I heard that you can use a PL adhesive (help! local hardware store) to glue the tiles up ...or you can use thinset which I used for the tiles....which is better?

2. Any suggestions as to the the height? The wall is painted.

3. I did not use grout between the tile and the wall as I read that caulk is better because of expansion....I have about 1/4 inch to fill....should this be all caulk?

4. Any tips on how to apply caulk to the top of the tile without making a mess out of the whole project?

I am a 66 yr. old woman with little experience in handywork but I enjoy doing new projects....this has been a big one!!!

Sure would appreciate any help out there........thanks!!!

DIYnewbie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:02 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 546

I think you can leave the space between the tile and the wall empty if you have something to sit the mopboard tile on.

Typically, I would put the first course going up a wall on a spacer. Then you'll need to caulk the joint.

As for the height of the base tile, what tile do you have available? I think 1/2 of an 8" tile would look best. It depends on the size of the room. 1/2 of a 12" tile would look pretty high, I imagine. I'm saying 1/2 of a tile, so you can have a factory edge on top.

I suppose if you have a good wet saw, you can cut a 12" tile into 3 pieces and be good.