Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2007, 05:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Share |
Default

thinset on thinset?


Tile cutter malfunctioned while I was tiling my bath. I also ran a few pieces short thanks to the cutter malfuntioning. To finish this project, do I have to completely clean the excess thinset left from the first attempt down to the backer board?

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 06:43 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,045
Default

thinset on thinset?


No, of course not. You removed the thinset while still fresh right?

Jaz

JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 28
Default

thinset on thinset?


Quote:
Originally Posted by boman47k View Post
Tile cutter malfunctioned while I was tiling my bath. I also ran a few pieces short thanks to the cutter malfuntioning. To finish this project, do I have to completely clean the excess thinset left from the first attempt down to the backer board?



Yes, Remove the thinset.
flooring dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:26 PM   #4
Tileguy
 
JazMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 4,045
Default

thinset on thinset?


Remove the thinset??? You're kidding! There isn't a build up of thinset on the floor, just a skim coat from the remains after he removed it once he realized he had no more tiles.

If there was a build up, (the normal amount) I don't think he would be asking the question, do you? It's the same as treating the seams of the CBU.

Jaz
__________________
Tile 4 You LLC Troy, MI

DITRA Installs - KERDI Watertight-Mold-Free Showers. I have NEVER made a mistake, I thought I did ONCE, but, I was WRONG! A+ BBB rating - est. 1987 - over 50 yrs. exp.
JazMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

thinset on thinset?


Quote:
It's the same as treating the seams of the CBU
.

Makes sense to me, although I did the seams as I did the tile. There is a little buildup on the edges of a few of the tiles. I will chip and scrape them down then vacuum the dust. The thinset has been down a few days , and I was concerned the new thinset might not adhere to it.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drill to mix thinset dbrew Tools 25 08-08-2007 10:48 AM
Thinset question billinak Remodeling 2 11-24-2006 09:11 PM
How thick a layer of thinset ? Piney Flooring 2 11-10-2006 02:32 PM
Find and Remove Screws under Thinset waig Flooring 7 10-18-2006 09:40 AM
Ideas for getting up slate thinset mbur113 Remodeling 2 09-15-2006 09:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.