Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 06:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


We just moved into a house that was build in the late 70's. We finished the basement with carpet and new baseboards. After a cycle of seasons we are now noticing that the floor has dropped in random places around the room making the baseboard 1-2" above the carpet. Since this is a "floating" concrete floor underneath, should we build a subfloor on top to resolve the issue? Open to any help...

jmborsheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 07:12 PM   #2
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,769
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Go back and read what you posted. Some of it makes no sense.

__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:24 PM   #3
Stairguy
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 606
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmborsheim View Post
1-2" above the carpet. Since this is a "floating" concrete floor underneath, should we build a subfloor on top to resolve the issue? Open to any help...
what the heck does this mean?
Millertyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 11:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Wow, I thought that this was DIY chat-room, not bash-room. I don't know all the technical lingo for flooring, that's why they call me a newbie. All I know is that I have a problem with my floor and need some advice.

I have a concrete basement floor that we have installed carpet over and added new baseboards. After a year has gone by the floor in some places has dropped so that the baseboards are noticeably gapping above the carpet. I was told that the concrete was laid to float due to the bad soil in our neighborhood so that it would not crack the foundation. In order to solve the gapping issue, can I lay a subfloor over it to keep it level and if so how do we anchor it to concrete that moves.

Is that more clear?
jmborsheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 11:19 PM   #5
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,649
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Wow, I thought that this was DIY chat-room, not bash-room. I don't know all the technical lingo for flooring, that's why they call me a newbie. All I know is that I have a problem with my floor and need some advice.
No one is bashing anyone. Obviously you couldn't read it either because you somehow managed to re-write it so it made more since. Next time proof read your comments before you submit your words and this won't happen.

Quote:
In order to solve the gapping issue, can I lay a subfloor over it to keep it level and if so how do we anchor it to concrete that moves.
Yes.
Take a look at the Drycore (sp) product for openers.

Quote:
Is that more clear?
Is it? What do you think?
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Yes.
Take a look at the Drycore (sp) product for openers.
Thanks, I'll look into it. Do you know if the concrete continues to shift if the DRIcore will shift with it, therefore still causing gaps?
Someone suggested to us to secure the baseboards themselves to the flooring instead of the wall so it all floated together. Really don't know what is best.
jmborsheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 07:24 AM   #7
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,649
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


"Drycore" I'm having second thoughts about that name now. Is it dry core? or dry...something else?

Quote:
Do you know if the concrete continues to shift if the DRIcore will shift with it
I'm sure it will. Don't know how you would stop that from happening.

Quote:
Someone suggested to us to secure the baseboards themselves to the flooring instead of the wall so it all floated together.
Don't see how that would be possible.

I'm still trying to understand what a "concrete floating floor" is. Where are you getting that information?

How about a few pictures of this event?
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 07:34 AM   #8
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,769
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmborsheim View Post
Wow, I thought that this was DIY chat-room, not bash-room.
Not bashing. Just had no idea what "&quot, flooring &quot" means.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rusty baker For This Useful Post:
Bud Cline (08-30-2011), ttr13r (08-30-2011)
Old 08-30-2011, 07:03 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post

I'm still trying to understand what a "concrete floating floor" is. Where are you getting that information?

How about a few pictures of this event?
Its called a floating slab floor and they use it a lot in Denver because supposedly we are in the desert.

Ill try to post some pics soon.
jmborsheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 07:06 PM   #10
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,649
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
Its called a floating slab floor and they use it a lot in Denver because supposedly we are in the desert.
Well that part is correct.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 01:04 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


"floating"

This happens frequently enough around here you "regular" guys should know by now it's a software glitch and not the fault of the OPs. It is simply a "quoting" problem with the vBulletin software. (I believe it happens especially when copy/pasting from other sources/forums)

Let it go people.

...and perhaps you were thinking DryLok?


DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 10:17 PM   #12
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,649
Default

Subfloor over floating concrete?


Quote:
...and perhaps you were thinking DryLok?
Perhaps I was.

So why don't somebody call a Geek and fix the glitch?

Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a flat floor on an angled concrete floor? Magno Building & Construction 1 04-14-2011 05:42 AM
Bathroom Remo: Is this Plaster over Concrete Block? Mounting Backerboard over top? itcanadian Remodeling 10 03-21-2011 12:06 PM
how to fill the gaps between concrete blocks? micapavlov Building & Construction 4 01-03-2010 04:53 PM
Filling sunken living room w/ concrete Q's phil. Building & Construction 5 07-10-2009 12:03 PM
Trying to install floating floorboards... Hyperian Flooring 4 06-22-2008 04:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.