Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2008, 11:51 AM   #1

Share |

Subfloor Layers

Hi All,

I am a newbie and have already made a mistake by posting a question to a reply, which I apologize for.

I have had some good advice on how to add a layer of 3/4" BC plywood to a 3/4" OSB subfloor.

I was going to glue and screw it per the suggestions I received. But, when I went to order the glue for 1000 sq. ft. the Titebond tech people told me that if I glued the two sheets together it would be a problem. They said that the Titebond II and III adhesives "are brittle adhesives" and when I walk on the floor after the glue has cured, I will "hear crackling sounds" from the glue film fracturing between the two subfloor sheets or panels, because that glu eis not flexible. They want me to use Titebond 811, which will cost $900 more than using white glue or Titebond II for a 1000 sq. ft. space. So, now I am a little concerned about gluing the two layers together and not sure how to proceed. They also said that a water base adhesive will cause the OSB already in place, to swell and create other problems. The Titebond 811 is petroleum based and will not be a problem except for fracturing my finances.

So now I am thinking about just screwing the 3/4" underlayment to the OSB with #12 or #14 1-1/4 or 1-1/2" screws and hoping it won't end up squeaking all the time. Over the top of the 3/4 ply will be 3/4" x 4" solid White Oak plank flooring, nailed down. Floor joists are solid 2 x 10's, 16" OC.

Any suggestions will again be greatly appreciated.

randallS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:14 PM   #2
the Musigician

Subfloor Layers

i used only screws to do the same thing and never heard a squeak. just be sure to use enough screws and sit on top of what you're screwing to hold it all the way down. total cleaning first is a must too. vacuum any corners, etc.