Subfloor Assistance - Flooring - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-01-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
banging thumbs

Rewards Points: 25

Subfloor Assistance

I've started the kitchen remodel and instead of killing myself removing the linolium-over-linolium-oversome-tile, I'm going with replacing the 3/8" plywood subfloor.

I would like to minimize the threshold hight between the new kitchen floor and the hardwood in the adjacent room. The hardwood is approx 3/4" thick and the bamboo in the kitchen will be 19/32". Is 1/4" plywood the way to go? I'm new to this and appreciate the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Subfloor Assistance-img_4804.jpg  

Advertisement

bakerhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 01:09 AM   #2
hms
Remodeling contractor

Subfloor Assistance

Are you going to pull up the lino, tile and old subfloor at the same time? If so, that would be the best way to go, but I would never use 1/4 to subfloor anything. Use the 3/4" and use a transitional strip for the height difference between the rooms.

Advertisement

hms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 01:24 AM   #3
banging thumbs

Subfloor Assistance

The subfloor consists of diagonal plank subfloor with an overlay of 3/8" plywood. The linolium was glued down on the plywood. Today I cut out the plywood, leaving the clean diagonal plank sub.

3/4" on top of the plank would make the floor way to high once I install the bamboo floor. Since plank was used (1950's) as the sub, doesn't laying the 1/4" plywood to provide a smooth surface and a little height make sense?

Thanks for your response.
Old 05-02-2008, 08:13 AM   #4
Mold!! Let's kill it!

Rewards Points: 2,012

Subfloor Assistance